The Basics Of Birth Charts

I think everyone is unique in their own way, but with a population of over seven billion people and roughly 360,000 being born everyday there’s bound to be similarities between each of us.

Astrology is one of those things used to explain why certain people have similar personality traits. The most common representation of astrology is zodiac signs.

Some people don’t “believe” in zodiac signs because they think they give surface level explanations and they over-generalize, but astrology goes deeper than the sun sign that usually gets overgeneralized. Personally, I think Gemini’s are the best sign overall. But you have to go beyond your sun sign to get the most out of the stars.

Natal charts, also known as birth charts, are a snapshot how the planets were arranged at your birth. When you were born the stars align in specific ways to form your patterns and personality. There are ten key factors to reading your natal chart according to Astrology of the Ancients: the sun, the moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. Each star and planet gives you insight about a different part of your life.

The Sun represents your ego, your motivation, your interests, your likes and dislikes, your energy, and how you express yourself. It’s how you present yourself to others.

The Moon represents how you deal with and express your emotions. It measures your intuition, your conscious mind, and what makes you feel comfortable and secure.

Mercury is all about communication. It represents the way you think, how you learn, your curiosity, and some of your general interests. The way you communicate with the world around you can be based off Mercury.

If you ever wondered why you attract the people you do, Venus can help you. Venus represents, how you attract people, how affectionate you are, what you want in a partner, and how you interact with others.

A planet I need to look to more when the semester starts to get rough is Mars. Mars represents your motivation, your aggression, your confidence, your physical strength and stamina, and your risk taking abilities.

The way you express your beliefs and how strongly your morals are connected to Jupiter. Known as a lucky charm, Jupiter represents your philosophy about life, and where you want to learn and how you can benefit from what you’ve learned.

Similar to Mars, Saturn helps you to better understand your ambition. It represents limitations, boundaries, safety, and practicality.

Where does your uniqueness lie… in Uranus. Uranus represents where you seek freedom, where you’re unconventional, where you stand out, how you react to the unexpected, and where you’ll seek change.

Neptune gives you a blueprint to your creativity. It focuses on what inspires you, the illusions you believe, your confusion, and your imagination.

And lastly, Pluto is about empowerment and change! It represents where you feel powerless and where you want to take charge. It’s about taking control of your life and bettering a newer version of yourself.

To successfully have your chart read you need to know the following things about yourself: your birth date and time, and where you were born. With those things in place, you are on your way to learning some interesting things about yourself. It’s a new decade, why not give it a shot.


By Triniti Maye, Sophomore, Saint Xavier University

Instagram: @thatssotrin


Written by TrueStar Staff

Drop The Music ASAP!

NBA All-Star Weekend Is More Than A Game